Blogging with the Class

This is nothing new for many of the teachers on Twitter but I still wanted to share my experiences so far. We set up our class blog earlier this year and it was to serve two classes- Yr 4/5 and Yr 5/6. I teach the Year 4/5 class and so far we have been the only ones using it (although this will change tomorrow as I will be teaching the other class ICT on a Wednesday for the rest of the term!) We started slowly. We got a few posts up and some lovely people commented which the kids loved but it still didn’t grab them. Difficulties accessing the internet on our laptop then delayed our adventures further. Then we took part in the 100 Word Challenge arranged by @theheadsoffice and there were some sparkles of interest. This morning with a tip off from @peterford I managed to get the children their own usernames for the blog and this is what has grabbed them. Their own access!

Today we took over the ICT suite and so many have started blogging! They were able to write what they wanted today as a way to help them get used to using the blog. So today we have a new 100 word challenge, some examples of the Tudor work we have been doing, the start of a story, a special thank you, an excited recount of a new dog in the family and many more! Some are still in draft form but hopefully more should appear soon. As a teacher I know I need to give the children the opportunities to blog and the technology to do it. We will still have to face the internet dropping out in the classroom and the laptops being sllloooooowwww but hey, that’s part of the fun and the challenge!

 

Do you have any blogging tips for us?

If you would like to visit our blog please click here!

Thanks for reading!

bakingteacher

9 thoughts on “Blogging with the Class

  1. coppclass

    Conversely, my class seem to like our class blog over their personal blogs…

    My struggle is getting other teachers enthusiastic about blogging. I’ve just set the whole school up with their own blogs, but there is some reluctance from the non-techies, as they see it as an addition to the workload!

    Reply
    1. bakingteacher Post author

      So sorry I have just seen some extra comments on here I had missed! I know what you mean about getting others enthused, teachers at my place are enthusiastic but reluctant because they are worried about whether they can do it. I have made sure they know I am happy to help.

      Reply
  2. Heather Grant

    Dear Baking Teacher – I love what you are doing and the fact that you put a lot of thought and effort into your lessons. It must be exhausting so I hope that you have a well deserved summer break.

    Reply
  3. Sarsie21

    Hi Baking Teacher
    I’m hoping to set up a class blog too…. how did you go about it… do the children have access and password etc???
    Any advice would be appreciated!

    Reply
    1. bakingteacher Post author

      Hi Sarsie! I set my class blog up through @HGJohn on Twitter but there are lots of options around. At first all posts were set up through my login details but then I created logins for the whole class. This took a bit of time because I had to set them up with google addresses but again someone on Twitter showed me a shortcut for that. The children don’t have access to the email address, it was just so that they could have a log in. When they post it comes to me for moderation first so they can’t put anything on there without me checking. Good luck!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

