One bright and sunny morning…

Saturday dawned bright and cheery. It was the first day of the summer holidays and I was determined to get out there and do something! Mr Dotty was working so I had the day to myself. As a history graduate I love looking around old houses and so a visit to Audley End was top of my list of things to do this summer. I had visited last summer and looked forward to another visit. When I arrived I was pleased to hear that it was a free roam day in the house so you could wander round at your own pace. I loved the guided tour last year but this time I could linger in rooms, closing my eyes and imagining what the past would have been like. So I drifted from room to room, gazing at the sumptuous colours, admiring the embroidery and looking up at the portraits and wondering who these people were and what lives they led.

20120722-123456.jpg

After the house I spent a happy time in the gardens and found a quiet bench to sit and journal for a while. It was nice to have some peace and quiet, reflect on the past year and think about the year ahead (as a teacher I live by academic years so Happy New Year!) and all I wanted to achieve. Then I was distracted by the gorgeous flowers and started walking again. A walk in the grounds found my heart melting when I saw a couple embracing on a bridge, against a back drop of overhanging of trees. Such a romantic spot and a tender moment! Further people spotting saw a big sister protecting her little sister and more little ones covered in mud after some happy splashing in puddles!

20120722-123532.jpg

20120722-123544.jpg

20120722-123558.jpg

I ended my visit at the stables and spent a few minutes looking at the gorgeous Jack and here I wished I had my proper camera so I could get a better picture of him!

20120722-123605.jpg

Happy and calm I decided to have a quick visit to Saffron Walden, somewhere I think I have only really passed through before, and thanks to some recommendations from Twitter I found some great places to explore! My quick visit didn’t do it justice though so I plan to visit again soon!

And so my holiday has begun! Balance is my word of the holiday- ensure I am prepared for the next year with my new class and classroom but also have fun, relax, craft, read and explore.

So let’s hope the sun continues shining!

What are your plans for the summer? Do you have any recommended places to visit?

Miss Dotty

2 thoughts on “One bright and sunny morning…

Leave a Reply

