Mixing it up- Embroidering Paper

I have always been a girl who dabbles in different crafts. The ones I go back to are paper crafts and sewing but I like to try out different things. However one thing I had never tried is embroidery on paper. That is until this post by Meredith at ‘one sheepish girl’. I saw her embroidery and fell in love. And what an excellent idea to combine my two favourite things- journaling and embroidery! Not a girl who likes to wait, I settled down last night and got sewing. Not a natural artist I didn’t attempt a free hand design, instead I looked at some stencils I had and found a little cutie to use. Well not exactly a cutie but I liked him. And for the record he had nothing to do with any journaling I did yesterday, it was just a test. Honest!

 

 

 

Say hello to Mr Raar! Not my neatest stitching at all but I was so eager to give it a try! I found it quite difficult in my Moleskine journal but I am going to give it another go in my Smash Book where the paper is thicker. Also I was watching ‘Bones’ at the same time, our latest TV love. I used vouchers to buy the box set of Seasons 1-5 and are slowly working our way through them! But I digress! So embroidery in my journal is something I will definitely do again, my plan for my next project is embroidering some of the photos I am going to be smashing. Can’t wait!

Just before I go have you seen this excellent post by Claire at ‘Claireabellemakes’? Last week she organised an excellent Etsy Craft Party that I went along to. It was great fun and as well as meeting some fantastic people I got to have an afternoon crafting! If you look closely you can see the cranberry and chocolate biscuits I made (I blogged about them here and boy did they turn out differently this time, goodness knows why!) and also the wishlist Smash Book page is mine. Yes one day a gorgeous pink bike will be mine!

 

This is one of the layouts I made that afternoon. I am taking part in Shimelle’s ‘Learn Something New’ class again and I wanted to get my journal prepared. It was great fun and this is the title page in progress. I will blog about ‘Learn Something New’ once it starts at the beginning of September. If you are interested in finding out more you should follow this link! You don’t have to be a scrapbooker to do the class, I will be using my journal/ Smash Book and there are lots of other formats being used.

Thanks for reading, happy Wednesday! Let me know in the comments if you were early to the sewing on paper party and have been doing it for ages! Or maybe you have embroidered on something else? Fruit? A plant? Please share!

Miss Dotty

x

2 thoughts on “Mixing it up- Embroidering Paper

  1. claireabellemakes

    I have wanted to try this for a while, since I saw a youtube video by Sublime Stitching. Looks great!

    Can’t wait to see how your future smash book pages turn out 🙂

    Thanks for the mention too. x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

