A Lesson in Crochet

 

You know when you really, really want to do something but you can’t? Not because you aren’t allowed to but because you just can’t develop the skills. Well crochet and knitting is like that for me. My nan and one of my aunts are amazing knitters and my aunt worked as a seamstress for many years and is brilliant. I’m ok at embroidery and cross stitch and have yearnings for a sewing machine but crochet and knitting? Nope the skills bypassed me. My aunt has tried teaching me. My mum has tried teaching me. I have watched YouTube videos and read books but I just could not get it! I would see pins on Pinterest and pin them in the hope that one day I would be able to make these goodies. I gazed wistfully as friends sat there crocheting on a crafty evening and I envied the ladies at Cam City WI as they whipped out their creations. But still their skills did not come to be my osmosis. And then one day hope glimmered as I was told about crochet and knitting classes at The Sheep Shop (I think it may have been Claire but whoever it was thank you!).

20130120-123650.jpg

Armed with that knowledge I…well I put it off for ages thinking I would be rubbish and that I wouldn’t be able to do it. But finally I booked myself onto a class and eagerly awaited the beginning of February. Then a tweet from Joanne at Not So Granny alerted me to a cancellation so I very quickly asked if I could swap and I could! So yesterday I ventured to The Sheep Shop and with a lovely bunch of ladies I finally learnt the basics of crochet! I had the most wonderful few hours learning and the group was so small that Joanne could help us all when we needed it. She is a wonderfully patient teacher and allowed us time to consolidate and practice our newly learnt skills.

If you have been thinking of doing a class like this but have put it off don’t! I am so pleased I did it and now I have the confidence and basics I feel like I can go off and learn some things on my own (even though I will be heading back for more courses to learn even more!). Now obviously it wasn’t it all glitter and sunshine. I came home and happily practiced and then had a complete mind blank. My double crochet was just not working! A panic followed and then a quick glance on YouTube showed me what I was doing wrong! My next problem was well…you will see at the end of the post!

But again I have had advice from lovely Internet people and I’m going to start again on a piece this afternoon. I am going to set aside some practice time every day (I am itching to do some now but I must do some work first, then play!) and hopefully soon I will be able to make more than just lovely long strips that are collecting around the bungalow! It’s made me excited to try different crafts as well so at the moment I’m feeling very excited! I will update you with my progress and things I make.

Have you learnt a new skill recently or tried a new craft? Is there something you really want to learn? Please share in the comments below!

My class efforts

20130120-123747.jpg

Eek something goes wrong at home!

20130120-123821.jpg

14 thoughts on “A Lesson in Crochet

  1. Collette

    You have made a good start – I would recommend to put side aside to practice as I didn’t and now i forget everything – cant wait to see your progress

    Reply
    1. MissDotty Post author

      Thanks Suzie, I can feel myself getting better every time I start a new piece! I aim to start a project in the next few days. Thanks for the comment!

      Reply
  2. Maria @ Feisty Tapas

    I didn’t know about this shop, that’s good to know. We have plenty of wool shops in Ely for some reason and there is now a fab new sewing shop that will soon hopefully start offering sewing machine classes as I really want to learn before I take the plunge and decide to buy a sewing machine.

    Reply
    1. MissDotty Post author

      Glad to share shop details! I have been deliberating over getting a sewing machine for the past year or so, really want one but don’t know if I would use it enough!

      Reply
  3. Anna

    I really wish I could knit. I’m ok at crochet but I just cannot get my head around knitting! There are some classes starting at my local craft shop so I might give them a go. Thanks!

    Reply
  4. The Pampered Sparrow

    So glad you’re getting the hang of it! Your pictures look great πŸ™‚ It’s not the easiest of things to learn is it, but I’m there with you as crochet is one of my goals this year. I’m determined to make one of the lovely, traditional granny square blankets people on IG and Pinterest tease us with!!! πŸ˜‰ xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

