School Life and Journal Musings

schoollife

The above picture is of my IWB when doing a lesson on what the class hope to achieve and work on this year. These were my examples! See I even get the WI into my lessons!

 

As well as a crochet beginner, stationery lover, Twitter fan (although I have been very good this week and not gone on much!), WI Secretary and a hamster adorer I am also a primary teacher with a wonderful class in a supportive school and sometimes this overtakes normal life.

Work has been a little busy lately (isn’t it always lol!) with lots going on. As well as the normal day to day teaching and marking I am also Literacy Coordinator and have been writing reports on the progress of Literacy within the school, what I have been doing to make an impact on the subject, liaising with governors, monitoring planning and exercise books, writing Individual Education Plans for the children and writing reports for parents. I will not lie, I have felt frazzled the past few weeks. But two things have kept me going. Actually three things.

1) Mr Dotty and my dear mum.

2) Working where I work and knowing every hour and late night is worth it.

3) The support of friends I have made over the past year or so, particularly through the WI and online teacher people.

 

So to them, thank you!

What surprised me about this list is that my journal is not included. I have actually started three new notebooks since Christmas and just cannot settle into any of them! I start to write and get a block! I know this can be common to journal keepers but I find it interesting that when I need it the most I have turned away from it. Instead my ‘To Do List Diary’ has become the notebook always in my hand and has helped me keep track of everything I need to get done. The satisfaction of crossing out things is the highlight of my day! Who needs apps and gadgets:)

What have you been up to lately? If you journal do you find you only journal the positive? What do you do to get out of a journal block?

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “School Life and Journal Musings

  1. Shannan

    I am glad I am not the only one who can’t seem to settle into a journal! I got two for Christmas and one I keep to write in and the other is a list of things to do that week. (Like your To Do List Diary!) Like you said, I love crossing things off 🙂

    I don’t journal every day like I used to, so sometimes my writings can be a bit more negative because I tend to pick up my journal when I need to vent! I don’t really know that I have ever had a journal block, but it mostly just slips my mind to write. Or, not much new is going on and I just don’t have anything to write about. Maybe I do experience journal block after all! 🙂

    Reply
    1. MissDotty Post author

      Shannan thanks so much for the comment! I am glad it is not just me who cannot settle into a journal! I haven’t been like this for years! I think when and why I journal varies a lot and it is interesting to see you use it mainly to vent!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

