Some things that happened in May

Yes I know that May hasn’t really finished yet but I just wanted to share some things that have been going on over the last month as I am eager to get started with June! I am really looking forward to the summer months ahead!

So back to May then. May has been a weird month, at the time it went slowly but looking back I feel where did it go? I couldn’t believe it when in a conversation with some staff at school someone commented on it only being a week or so until half term. What we had just gone back surely! But no half term was looming meaning not long with my class of lovelies. But that’s a whole other post!

Crochet!

I was lucky enough to get a place on the Cambridge Botanical Gardens crochet project run with Cam City WI and it was my first meeting in May. Now as many of you know I am a beginner at crochet (I still can’t talk and crochet otherwise I lose my place) but some lovely ladies were very patient with me and helped me make a start! Check out this blog post for some more details about the project. I have joined the group making the one that looks like sausages. And here it is in real life!

Botanics

I won’t post my attempts yet hohum, maybe when they are a little better:)

Running

Yes I have also started running! A group of lovely ladies (I am so lucky to know lots of lovely ladies!) and I have joined forces to begin running/ get back into running and our super coach is Michaela. We are only in the beginning weeks but it has been inspiring and I love our Sunday sessions! My target is to run a 5k to raise money for the hospice who cared for my nan in her last days. They were amazing and I will be eternally grateful for what they did for our family. Plus I need to get fit!

Stretches

Bank Holiday Adventures

The obligatory BBQ, too much food and lots of lovely sunshine. Plus a hello from the Red Arrows. OK maybe not a personal hello but you know what I mean!

Red Arrows

This was followed the next day by a lovely walk around Wandlebury with Mr Dotty. He took his camera to get some photos of the emo cows we saw last time but sadly we didn’t come across them. One of my favourite things is walking through the woods and, even though it was busy, we managed to wander away from the crowds. As a result  we could hear the breeze going through the trees and savour the solitude. It’s always funny how I get inspired to write whilst out walking so I scribbled away some story ideas to work on. Maybe it is a result of the lack of distractions?

Wandlebury

sun

Rainbows

Rainbows have shown up on two significant days this month.

rainbow

This double rainbow appeared on the day my Grandma died and I was doing the drive on the way back to Cambridge from the hospice. The second rainbow appeared on the evening Mr Dotty and I travelled down before her funeral. I don’t hold any specific significance about the appearance, it was just a lovely thing to occur and made me stop the car and have a few moments of thought. The second appearance heralded a mini lecture from Mr Dotty about why and how rainbows occur. My little science geek!

And obviously there has been lots of letter writing, journaling, great days at school etc!

How has your May been? Are you looking forward to anything in June? Please share in the comments below!

Kelly

x

11 thoughts on “Some things that happened in May

    1. MissDotty Post author

      Thanks so much and eek about reading a story, I only recently let Mr Dotty read one and we have been together 10 and a half years lol!

      Reply
    1. MissDotty Post author

      Thank you, I am just glad she is not in pain any more.

      As for running, I am so pleased to be doing it! I didn’t think I would be able to run with others but they are very supportive.

      Reply
  1. claireabellemakes

    A lovely post to hear all about your month and it was nice to read that you had some great moments amongst the sadness.

    G would be exactly the same about explaining rainbows haha!!

    xx

    Reply
    1. MissDotty Post author

      Thanks Claire, happy June! I am still getting mini rainbow lectures, the other day with a hose! Glad to hear G would be the same.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

