Declutter Challenge Update- The Car Boot Tales

declutter

A few weeks ago I posted about the great decluttering challenge I had set myself this summer. I have found it really satisfying going through everything and although I haven’t stuck strictly to the one area a day challenge (some days I just had to keep going and do more!) I have managed to do most areas apart from the dreaded garage. However, as I look around the house I am aware that there is more I could get rid of so I am beginning to see this as more of a long term project.

I have used a variety of methods to get rid of the decluttered items. Some have gone to charity shops, some have been ebayed or put on Amazon Marketplace but the problem with selling online is that for items the cost of postage meant it wasn’t worth selling them. So I joined forces with some lovely ladies to do a car boot on this sunny Bank Holiday Monday! Myself, Claire from Claireabellemakes, Collette from CraftyGlitten and Katie from Kookie and Krumbs (sadly Michaela was ill – hope you are feeling better lovely!) got up at early o’clock, filled the cars and headed off to our local car boot. The weather was bright and cheerful (if a little warm at times) and we had a morning of chatting and a little bit of selling. Sadly it was quite quiet so we didn’t sell as much as we had hoped. However we have grand plans to try again in a month or two!

I learnt that books don’t do very well and neither did the clothes I had bought so I am going to do a mix of ebay, charity shop and maybe keep some for our next car boot adventure (but maybe borrow a clothes rail to display the clothes on).

The big surprise seller was crafting goodies which all of us did well with, particularly material!

So all in all a mixed day but it was wonderful to spend time with friends, make a few pounds and make some room in the house.
Have you been taking part in the decluttering challenge? How is going? I would love to hear about in the comments!

5 thoughts on “Declutter Challenge Update- The Car Boot Tales

Leave a Reply

