Miss Peregrine and Vintage Photos

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs had been on my wishlist for a while after I had seen it mentioned on numerous occasions online but it wasn’t a book I knew much about. So when on Saturday I found myself in a bookshop with birthday vouchers to spend (woohoo!) I was pleasantly surprised to see this book standing up on the table and waving at me. Well maybe it didn’t quite get up and wave but let’s just say after a little mooch around the shop the book and a lovely notebook were nestled in my handbag.

Miss Peregrine front cover

Even though I had packed my suitcase with about ten books I decided to start it that night and about an hour ago I finished it. It wasn’t totally what I was expecting (I was expecting more horror) but it was still a great read and I can’t wait to read the follow on novel.

Miss Peregrine back cover

A bit of the back cover blurb to entice you!

What I really liked about the book was the inclusion of real photographs to add to the story being told. At the end of the book an interview with Ransom Riggs is included in which he talks about the origins of the book. When talking about collecting vintage photographs he says “It was just a casual hobby, nothing serious, but I noticed that among the photos I found, the strangest and most intriguing ones were always of children.” The book certainly made me wonder at the history of the many photographs he included within the pages of Miss Peregrine.

At the end of the book there is also a sneak peek at the first chapter of the next book. I have realised I never read these as I always like to have the whole story ready in my hands to enjoy. Does anyone else do this or am I the only one? Have you read Miss Peregrine? What did you think? I would love to read your comments below!

 

80 thoughts on “Miss Peregrine and Vintage Photos

  1. Emma B (@mabismab)

    I read Miss Peregrine.. a while back. Like you, I expected something darker and wasn’t so thrilled with the ending. I haven’t read the sequel as I think the novelty of photos has worn off a bit on me! (Also, I never read teaser chapters!)

    Reply
    1. MissDotty Post author

      I know what you mean, it was a very sudden ending. I am glad I wasn’t the only one who had to readjust their expectations. And yay another person who doesn’t read teaser chapters!

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Miss Dotty’s Weekly Journal- Books and Travel | Miss Dotty Loves…

  3. google plus app for iphone

    What i don’t realize is actually how you’re not actually
    much more neatly-liked than you may be now. You’re so intelligent.
    You realize thus considerably when it comes to this matter, made me for my part
    imagine it from numerous various angles. Its like women and men don’t seem to be
    involved until it is something to accomplish with Girl gaga!

    Your own stuffs outstanding. All the time deal with it up!

    Reply
  4. Victorina

    In a practical sense, it means knowing what lies underneath
    a road before you start digging it up. This is a simple survey to measure your Financial
    Intelligence Quotient(FIQ). A good reviewer will give you the down low on these websites.

    Reply
  5. interior design

    Read on to decide which apps are best for decorating your
    home. There are certain levels of illumination that can be
    harmful to the eye, so in assigning the quantity of light fixtures
    you put in a room, make sure you know how to
    balance them. If you want to makeover your home for joyous living, consider Wabi Sabi restraints along with Design Psychology
    principles:.

    Reply
  6. New Balance absolutely

    Hi there, I discovered your web site via Google even as looking for a
    comparable subject, your site came up, it seems great. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hi there, just become alert to your blog through Google, and located that
    it’s really informative. I am going to watch out for brussels.
    I will be grateful should you proceed this in future. Many other people might
    be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

    Reply
  7. posing place

    I do believe all of the ideas you’ve introduced in your post.
    They are really convincing and can definitely work. Still, the posts are too
    short for novices. May just you please lengthen them a bit from subsequent time?
    Thanks for the post.

    Reply
  8. sexy girls self shots

    First of all I want to say fantastic blog! I had a quick
    question which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your mind prior
    to writing. I’ve had a tough time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out there.

    I do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15
    minutes tend to be wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or hints?
    Many thanks!

    Reply
  9. gitt.us

    The cloud disperse as well as the self shines like the sun. The latter of these two is especially important, because there have been many cases of enormous companies suing people who are thought to have downloaded
    illegal files, based solely on the IP address. Due to the extreme speeds of the network, the server accomplishes the 1:1 ratio in a
    relatively short time.

    Reply
  10. bingo blitz cheats

    Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Thank you so much, However I
    am experiencing troubles with your RSS. I don’t know the reason why I am unable
    to subscribe to it. Is there anybody else getting identical RSS issues?
    Anyone who knows the answer can you kindly respond?
    Thanks!!

    Reply
  11. yeast infection cure

    As a lowered immune system has been seen to
    be a factor in all kinds of infections it will prove beneficial to increase the amounts of garlic you consume when trying to overcome an infection of this nature.
    Treatment for yeast infections under breasts, in creases of thighs or other folded
    areas on the body can be treated by keeping the area dry and clean. Now,
    yogurt can either be taken orally of applied directly on the irritation where the source of itch is
    occurring.

    Reply
  12. xmac.kr

    I delight in, lead to I discovered just what I used to be
    looking for. You have ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day.

    Bye

    Reply
  13. Mathias

    Hi/her life should be planned in a bodybuilding workout intensifying technique in existence since the
    closer your hands sitting on roving antigravity chairs and
    getting in shape. With free bodybuilding programs the advent
    of random drug testing in multiple professional and amateur sports,
    making him a national ranking.

    Reply
  14. Ardis

    I know this sige gives quality depending posts and additional information,
    is there any other web page which gives these data in quality?

    Reply
  15. Normand

    We’re a gaggle of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our
    community. Your web site offered us with helpful info to work
    on. You have performed a formidable task
    and our entire community will likely be grateful to you.

    Reply
  16. TV

    Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I
    stumbleupon every day. It’s always exciting to read content from other authors and practice a little something from other websites.

    Reply
  17. binary profit

    Hi mates, its enormous piece of writing regarding educationand fully defined,
    keep it up all the time.

    Reply
  18. Holzjalousien

    Good post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon every day.
    It’s always helpful to read through articles from other authors and
    practice something from their web sites.

    Reply
  19. Mei

    I used to be suggested this blog by means of my cousin. I am not
    sure whether this submit is written through him as nobody else understand such targeted about my problem.
    You’re wonderful! Thanks!

    Reply
  20. love spells

    Step 9: While holding the yellow candle in your right hand,
    light it from the large white candle. By finding the right direction to pursue, you
    can completely recover this relationship, even if only one of you wants it.
    If you have an estranged lover, then the pain shall not allow you to concentrate
    over any work that you intend to do, resulting in tremendous dissatisfaction in life.

    Reply
  21. Free Instagram Followers

    Hi! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could find a captcha plugin for my comment form?

    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

    Reply
  22. bubble Witch Saga 2 Hack

    Galaxyman, hero of Galactic Quest comic shop,
    where I get all of my comic needs taken care of, chose the following as this week’s hottest books for the week of November 10, 2010:.
    Click on the Facebook connect button to start connecting your – Pepper
    Panic Saga game account. If you will find the possibility to get extra lives and Lollipop Hammers from
    playing other King Games, do not pass up the possibility to accomplish that.

    Reply
  23. medicament pour grossir

    So for most people or for most mixes, androstenone is
    the dominant human pheromone substance. Chemical
    substances which have an effect around the actions, function, development and development of same species that released within the physique are known as
    pheromones. In the end, jealousy and passion are emotions that can create
    a deep desire in the opposite sex directed towards you.

    Reply
  24. Crous Nevers

    rience une fois, que vous pouvez obtenir une large gamme de v.
    Et ça aussi, atomic number 6 est vraiment un miracle.
    Marsha’s husband drove us to the Invalides, the Eiffel Tower and the Opera House
    to see them in their glittering, nighttime splendor.

    Reply
  25. www.essexcaraudioandalarms.co.uk

    May I simply just say what a comfort to uncover someone that really understands
    what they’re talking about on the web. You definitely realize how to bring a problem to light
    and make it important. More people need to look at this and understand
    this side of the story. It’s surprising you’re not more popular because you surely possess the gift.

    Reply
  26. Madelaine

    Find out how to write a business. As our ability to manually open and share the
    ads you see around the 1st of July 3 to 6. On the February 14th total abc of
    $2, 490, 925 in total, were essential to your family, especiaally when you recognise
    where power really lies. Use testimonials from individuals that are
    een as less conflicted for the interior décor. Distyributor for retail sales;
    so if you go to interviews no matter how well a business professional aand competitive analysis.

    Reply
  27. check download videos from youtube methods

    This is the right webpage for anyone who wants to find out about this topic.
    You know so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I
    really will need to…HaHa). You definitely put a fresh spin on a
    topic which has been written about for a long time. Wonderful stuff, just great!

    Reply
  28. web site

    I’ve been browsing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all webmasters
    and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be much
    more useful than ever before.

    Reply
  29. contract wars gp hack

    Though this is not a definitive guide to how your website project
    will go, it’s a good roadmap of what to expect.
    There are two primary reasons why so many foreign nationals historically have avoided buying real estate in Arab
    countries, including in Dubai. Exactly what does enjoy your life mean, drunken debauchery, or how about more dangerous
    criminal acts.

    Reply
  30. Franklyn

    But often, people who are similar but that doesn’t necessarily
    bode puppy training well for the trainer’s hand first. Aside from this advantage, and you know more about how
    to gradually eliminate rewards during dog training sessions to other toys.
    But to have the type of training puppy training videos and books written on this dog.
    As there is absolutely puppy training vital.
    Their manner will be his personal trainer all throughout the session period.
    Yet, this signifies an aggressive behavior when he does not understand every word they are given by
    professional trainers.

    Reply
  31. http://tinyurl.com/oqbcxgh

    Howdy! This post couldn’t be written any better!

    Looking through this article reminds me of
    my previous roommate! He continually kept preaching about this.
    I’ll forward this article to him. Pretty sure
    he’ll have a very good read. I appreciate you for sharing!

    Reply
  32. Boom Beach Cheats iPhone

    Attractive part of content. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to
    say that I acquire actually enjoyed account your weblog posts.
    Anyway I will be subscribing to your feeds and even I success
    you get right of entry to constantly fast.

    Reply
  33. Hamish

    All of the differences produce the impression that Chinese translation can be a extremely hard task.

    There are numerous different languages to master in this world
    such as learning Chinese, Spanish, Mandarin, Portuguese, French,
    German, Polish, Russian, Hebrew, Japanese.
    Language is when people express themselves, the fluctuation in the meanings along with the underlying insinuations of polite conversations.

    Reply
  34. wordpress.com

    Wow, marvelous weblog structure! How long have you ever been blogging for?
    you made blogging look easy. The whole glance of your website is fantastic, as neatly as the content material!

    Reply
  35. farmville 2 country escape cheats ios

    There will always farmville 2 country escape cheats stick to the doorstep.
    And, guys, here’s a brief description about this cell phone repair flower mound tx, mobile games can make a big enjoyable because it is possible on the road.
    Mobile gaming has increased with time out. This evolution has
    brought a lot of time, forget PvP. There are number of users in a mobile phone has bring a lot of units, which farmville 2 country escape
    cheats is bound to find any trouble even a blowing car in drag racing.

    Reply
  36. Title Company Denver

    Do you have a spam issue on this blog; I also am a blogger, and I was
    curious about your situation; many of us have created some nice methods and
    we are looking to exchange techniques with other folks, be sure to shoot
    me an e-mail if interested.

    Reply
  37. catering,

    It’s really a cool and useful piece of info. I am satisfied that you shared this
    helpful information with us. Please keep us informed like this.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  38. Dan

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a article writer
    for your site. You have some really great articles and I feel I would be a good
    asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some articles for your blogg iin exchange for a link badk tto mine.Please send me
    an e-mail iif interested. Cheers!

    Reply
  39. cure acne with food

    Howdy! I know thjs is kiknd of off topic but I was wondering which
    blog platform are you using for this website?
    I’m getting fed up oof WordPress because I’ve
    had issues with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform.
    I would be great if you could point me in tthe
    direction of a good platform.

    Reply
  40. karaoke italiano

    Sometimes you are caught completely off guard while other times you see exactly
    what you expect. Here are the steps you can do to make Hindi karaoke songs
    CDs and DVDs. Karaoke is a fun activity that allows a lot of room for freedom of expression.

    Reply
  41. embocadura

    Heya i’m for the primary time here. I found this board and
    I in finding It truly helpful & it helped me out much.
    I am hoping to present something back and help others like
    you aided me.

    Reply
  42. product development

    You could certainly see your skills in the article you write.
    The world hopes for even more passionate writers
    like you who are not afraid to mention how they believe.
    At all times go after your heart.

    Reply
  43. kitchen gadgets

    There’s a wet stone at the back of the Kydex portion of the sheath
    that fits and holds inside a pouch at the back
    of the kit. Heavy duty grinding wheels and chains saw sharpeners are, of
    course, for the serious woodworkers and landscapers.
    All you need to make traditional baby handprint crafts are some easily available
    craft items and loads of imagination.

    Reply
  44. Dzień dobry kocham cię film pobierz za darmo

    An impressive share! I have just forwarded this onto a colleague who has been conducting a little homework
    on this. And he actually bought me lunch because I stumbled upon it for him…
    lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!!

    But yeah, thanks for spending time to talk about this matter here on your web
    site.

    Reply
  45. clash of lords 2 triche

    Although Facebook is a big, notable company it is still a young pup in the internet world.

    Sometimes you may forget to log out safely and this
    can be a very hard thing to do. So, just with some nominal monthly fee, the organizations handover
    all their essential IT operations parts like; backup, updates, security practices
    to their cloud provider.

    Reply
  46. Clemmie

    I’m extremely pleased to discover this website.

    I wanted to thank you for your time due to this
    fantastic read!! I definitely appreciated
    every part of it and i also have you saved to fav to look at new
    things on your site.

    Reply
  47. Free Chat With Gifted Psychics!

    I’ll immediately snatch your rss feed as I can’t to find
    your e-mail subscription hyperlink or newsletter service.
    Do you’ve any? Please permit me understand in order that I could subscribe.

    By the way, what type of psychic services do you provide?
    Thanks

    Reply
  48. war commander trucos

    Although Facebook is a big, notable company it is still a
    young pup in the internet world. Well first off people realize this is Pay –
    Pal, one of the most trusted online banking sites out there
    that people use on the daily basis for all of their personal or business needs.
    However, if another user with Administrator privileges then accesses these same servers and re-enables
    the Guest Account for any reason, you will then be left exposed.

    Reply
  49. uberstrike hack

    So if you know your own values, it is easier to recognise them in other people.
    You will nonetheless connect it by way of USB,
    Wi – Fi or Bluetooth. If you have physical access to the computer,
    you are practically guaranteed the password.

    Reply
  50. hay day diamanti trucco

    Tobago is perfectly a part of this satellite that’s regarded due
    to the very earliest-fee headstone. In the present day We’re the right to contact most people close to hay day hack and even principe, the explanations these aren’t actually exasperating
    but yet very dangerous, solutions to individually keep on being rigorous in order to avoid these people.
    The reason behind having multiple email accounts
    is based on the fact that if your single email account is taken then the individual
    who has that account can have all your passwords send to that account for reset.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

